Archive › October, 2011

Ubuntu Community Survey Next Steps: Enhancing Recognition and Credit

This post is part of a series of posts discussing next steps based upon findings in the Ubuntu Community Survey Report that was released recently. The goal of these posts is to focus on solutions, and I would like to encourage your comments and discussion to be focused on areas in which we can drive […]

Comments ( 16 )

Ubuntu Community Team Meeting Tomorrow

Just a quick reminder that tomorrow (Tues 25th October 2011), the Canonical Commmunity Team will be having our regular weekly meeting on IRC at 8am Pacific / 11am Eastern / 4pm UK / 5pm Europe. The meeting will take place in #ubuntu-meeting on the freenode IRC network. If you can’t join us, the log will […]

Comments ( 5 )

Ubuntu Accomplishments System Spec

Some time ago I was kicking around some ideas about how we reward our community for different types of contribution. While Launchpad karma is useful for indicating who has been working on code, bugs, translations, and specs, it doesn’t cover a wide variety of community contributions and is also not a particularly exciting way of […]

Comments ( 13 )

Ubuntu Community Survey Next Steps: Leadership

This post is part of a series of posts discussing next steps based upon findings in the Ubuntu Community Survey Report that was released recently. The goal of these posts is to focus on solutions, and I would like to encourage your comments and discussion to be focused on areas in which we can drive […]

Comments ( 9 )

Ubuntu Community Survey Results

Earlier this month some concerns were expressed in a Community Council meeting about some aspects of the Ubuntu community experience. Based on this feedback I released a survey that went out to all Ubuntu Members to gather some data about views on motivation, pride, leadership, and more. I also invited feedback via other means such […]

Comments ( 38 )

Ubuntu Community Survey Now Closed, Report In Progress

I just wanted to let you all know that the Ubuntu Community Survey I published earlier this month is now closed and today am writing the results up into a report. I closed it now so I can publish the report and you folks can digest the data in time for us to discuss next […]

Comments ( 1 )

Seven Years Old

Seven years ago Ubuntu 4.10, the Warty Warthog, was released. It was the very first Ubuntu release. I remember when it came out, feeling like this was the right step forward for Linux and Free Software. While the technology looked awesome (removable USB with automatic mounting, woo!), and it was built on the rock that […]

Comments ( 9 )

Ubuntu Community Q+A Videocast Today

Just a quick reminder that today (Wed 19th Oct 2011) I will be running my Ubuntu Q+A live videocast. This is an hour of Q+A where all questions about Ubuntu, Canonical, or anything else are welcome. It takes place today at 11am Pacific / 2pm Eastern / 7pm UK / 8pm Europe. Taking part is […]

Comments ( 0 )

Day o’Meetings

Today two important meetings took place in the venerable #ubuntu-meeting IRC channel that I wanted to point out. Firstly, the first meeting of the newly elected Community Council took place. You can see the log here for the meeting. Secondly, my team held our first Canonical Community Team meeting on IRC too. We spun through […]

Comments ( 0 )

Documenting Great Ubuntu Community Best Practice

Our community has a wealth of experience. Different skills, capabilities, life experiences, and perspectives all contribute to a boiling pot of knowledge that when shared can help us all to do great work as part of our different Ubuntu community teams. When we can learn from each other, we can spread this experience far and […]

Comments ( 5 )